Skip To Main Content

Historic Hibbing High School

Hibbing High School History

The original high school building was begun in 1920 and completed in 1922. It was promised to be a “Castle in the Woods” to promote the relocation of the town from North Hibbing. The school has been called “the school with the golden door knobs,” with the door knobs and railings of brass giving the golden appearance. A new addition was built in 1991 that includes a swimming pool, gymnasium, and band room. The school received the Belamy Award in 1968, given to one high school in the nation each year to honor outstanding academics. We take pride in our tradition of academic excellence, and our staff works to continually provide an enriching and meaningful education.

A Note About The Building

Construction of Hibbing High School was started in 1920. The cost of the building was roughly $3,900,000. Today it would cost over $50 million to replace.

The ceiling on the main floor and in the auditorium is all hand molded, an art now obsolete. The majority of it was done by Irish craftsmen. The auditorium, with its cut glass chandeliers ($15,00 each in 1920) from Czechoslovakia and Barton vaudeville organ (installed in 1923 and one of two left in the country), was designed after the old Capitol Theater of New York, now out of existence.

The unique library contains statuary and the historical oil painting by Howard Lake, Minnesota, native David Workman depicting the journey iron ore makes to become steel.

A $5 million physical education and band complex addition was dedicated in 1991.

During 2009-2011 the Hibbing High School undertook an indoor air quality improvement project in which the building's heat and air transfer systems were completely rennovated. As part of this construction, classroom's were outfitted with custom desks, interactive whiteboards, and audio enhancement systems, as well as new ceilings, lights and flooring.